Harman Begins Term as Chair of the NAM’s Council of Manufacturing Associations

Proven Business Leader Brings Record of Success Advocating for Manufacturers

The National Association of Manufacturers (NAM) announced today that American Forest & Paper Association (AF&PA) President and CEO Donna Harman has taken over as chair of the NAM’s Council of Manufacturing Associations (CMA) to serve a one-year term. The CMA is a vital auxiliary of the NAM, made up of more than 200 industry-specific manufacturing associations that provide resources and networks to members to broaden the reach of the NAM’s advocacy efforts.
“Donna is a tremendous advocate for manufacturing investment and jobs,” said NAM President and CEO Jay Timmons. “She will provide outstanding leadership to the CMA’s efforts to advance pro-growth policies. Throughout her career, Donna has skillfully navigated complex policy issues in Washington with great success. Donna’s experience and extensive record of effective issue advocacy will strengthen the voice of all manufacturers and will be a valuable asset to the CMA in 2013.”
Harman’s CMA peers recognized her in 2011 with the Council’s Leadership Award, and she is also on RISI’s Top 50 Power List for the pulp and paper industry. Harman serves in leadership roles for the International Council of Forest and Paper Associations, the International Congressional Conservation Foundation and the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization.
“Manufacturing is at the very heart of our country’s economic well-being, and only by communicating our priorities and concerns to our elected representatives will they truly understand the issues affecting us and how to address them,” said Harman. “I am honored to serve the broader manufacturing community and help expand the CMA’s influence on Capitol Hill to accomplish our collective goals in 2013 and beyond.”
Also joining the CMA Board of Directors for 2013 are Kate Offringa, president and CEO of the North American Insulation Manufacturers Association; Heidi Brock, president of The Aluminum Association; Connie Tipton, president and CEO of the International Dairy Foods Association; Ed Youdell, president and CEO of the Fabricators & Manufacturers Association, International; and Stephen Gold, president and CEO of the Manufacturers Alliance for Productivity and Innovation.

Related Tags: